Friday, 11 September 2015

So it begins

It's a boy! Some 3.5 kilos in half a meter of... joy? Responsibilities? Happiness? Fear? The uncertainty of it all is... unsettling.

He was planned. I've known of all the implications for quite a while now. Known, yes, aware - not really. I wasn't scared of all they baby stuff, I did babysit my sister quite often, shitty diapers and backs weren't anything new. Neither was the smell of breast milk or puke. On top of that I did attend a few seminars for new parents.
It was the fact, that previously it has been more of an occasional thing, but now it was my responsibility. Not just temporary, until somebody else comes along, but... for ever?! Suddenly it's an actual responsibility, not something pushed on you by a society or a personal whim. This realization was quite sobering.

She woke me up around 6am, told me that waters broke around midnight, but she wanted to let me have my beauty sleep. Contractions anyway have to be ~2 minutes apart, before that there's no point in going to the hospital. Shit! I've been sleeping like a log while she did all the breathing exercises and suffered through the convulsions.
All the necessary stuff was packed for a week already, we just got dressed, called a cab, grabbed our things and went. Check-ins, ultrasounds and moving into "spawning chambers". An effin' SPA visit. ~10 hours of bed and water procedures, loads of hand holding and moaning. Of course there were complications, the kid was larger than his mother. And, of course, he got out just when I went out. I knew it and went intentionally. Didn't expect it any other way.

After initial holding session, they took him away for checkups, in the meantime we had to vacate the chamber and move to our designated room for the next week.  Busy night at the ward, that was. ~20 minutes later we got summoned for a pickup. Already in corridor could hear HIM whine in low timbre. All the other kids had high-pitched voices, ours was already an alto.

First night she mostly slept, that is until kid woke me up and, after dealing with the sewage, I woke her so she could feed him. I was hoping, that in the future I'll get some more sleep.

He doesn't do much, little wrinkly thingy. Sleeps for a couple of hours, wakes up for half an hour, poops, eats, looks around and back to sleep.

No comments:

Post a Comment